Need some advice, my head is a shed!

LDC

Reaction score
Hi all,

I worked as a manager in a job I liked for two years but quit about due to the loss of my son and needing something less pressured and regather my thoughts and emotional/mental health.

I managed to gain employment in a job that I'm in now which is part time, 3 days a week. The pay is pretty poop but it fits in with child care for now, meaning that dd is with me during the week for 2 days (I get weekends off), my oh for 1 day and nursery for two days.

The job hasn't been anything like I was expecting though - I have to pay expenses outright then wait to be reimbursed which is difficult when the pay isn't great and they have extended my probationary period, I now think I'll stay on this until my maternity ends which causes me a lot of stress due to the role I do (essentially I have to rely on others to achieve my goals due to working in the heath sector so is nothing that I can control as such).

I've just been offered a job doing what I did before, full time. The wage is so so much better (around 16k a year better) and the hours aren't too bad, however we will struggle for child care one day a week which we could use nursery for as dd is already there.

The job is exactly what I want to do, career wise and also personally as coming out of my field has made me realise how much I love it.

Then mummy guilt kicks in.

I currently work part time and am contemplating full time so will see my children less. It works out to 2 days a week less that I'd see them than my current job.

maternity wise as I've not been in my current job long it doesn't make any difference as I'm not entitled to anything, but I'd be able to break up earlier In this job due to holiday.

I feel like I'm being pulled in 2 ways; my desire to do the job and my guilt at contemplating going back full time and being away from my children.