new baby/problems latching

gingmg

Reaction score
My baby is 6 days old. BF has been a struggle as far as latching on. Sometimes he does great, other times he won't open big enough for a good latch and will only suck on my nipple. Its getting painful at times to feed him. He does his best if we are lying down in bed naked. If I have a shirt on, he has clothes on, is swaddled, or if I am sitting- its like he forgets how to latch on and won't feed. I keep trying to feed other ways but eventually I give in because I know he is hungry and I know I can get him to eat in bed, naked. I know they love the skin to skin contact, and so do I, but he has to learn to eat with clothes on with me sitting up. He also isn't a good burper. Suggestions?

I am new to breastfeeding as well, but I found that I had to really pinch up, sandwich my nipple in my hand before trying to get him to latch on. I then stroked his face from the nose down until he opened wide and I could bring him to my nipple. This helped him get a deeper latch. As for the eating naked I am not sure. Maybe ad one piece of clothing every time you feed him until you are both dressed?

I hope you find some advice from ladies with a little more experience. Good luck!

My DS and I took a couple weeks to really get the hang of it. Their mouths are so small at first and your arms don't yet have the "muscle memory". Over time, as their mouth gets bigger and you find your own groove, it gets easier. Just keep trying, do what works for you, and in time you and your baby will both learn new tricks.

I agree with the nipple sandwich. I also would move my fingers back and still kind of hold the area flat so it didn't re-expand in his mouth too much. Do you have a nursing pillow? I loved mine when he was smaller.

Oh and don't worry about the burping thing...DS rarely burps when I try but later gets it up on his own. "Burping" a baby is not common in most cultures that BF.