Yolk sac, no fetal pole - advice please

1liz9

Reaction score
Ok this is my first time writing. I had my 6.5 week sonogram today and they saw a gestational and yolk sac which had grown but no fetal pole and heartbeat. The doctor want a to do a d&c Friday. Please, please share any wisdom or stories you've heard... Below is a timeline. Thank you.

4 weeks- HCG level 194
5 weeks - ultrasound. Saw small gestational sac and yolk sac
6 weeks- HCG level 18,294
6.5 weeks (today)- ultrasound. Gestational sac and yolk sac had grown, but no fetal pole or HB.

I'm not having any spotting, bleeding, etc and my boobs are so sore they're killing me. Doctor ran blood today but said he is 95% sure I had a blighted ovum. Bloods will return tomorrow. Don't want to terminate a possibly successful pregnancy... :nope:

Hi 1liz9, so sorry you're scared and dealing with this uncertainty. I'm dealing with a similar situation (6w ultrasound showed just a sac, no yolk or fetal pole yet). I'm in a "wait and see" limbo right now. But I stumbled upon this website earlier and I'm finding it so comforting.

https://www.misdiagnosedmiscarriage.com/

It's a bunch of stories about women who started off with low betas, blighted ovum, etc. who went on to have healthy full-term pregnancies. Scroll to the bottom and click "To read some of our Misdiagnosed Miscarriage stories - Click here" The stories are sorted by category.

Hope this helps. I will be thinking of you!

Thank you so much for the information. I had never seen this website before.

May I ask what your doctor has chosen to do with you? How long is he recommending you wait it out?

Thank you so much for writing back. I'm so terrified.

You do realise that you don't have to go with what the doctor says? You are perfectly within your rights to wait it out and see what happens.
At that early gestation sometimes even a day or so can make a huge difference to what can be seen on the ultrasound.

I hope it works out well for you xx