9 weeks. Moving to USA. Need help! (cost of giving birth)

Status
Not open for further replies.

iyaamby

Reaction score
Hi mamas,

I'm from a foreign country and would like to give birth in the USA so my child becomes US citizen. I already have tourist visa to USA and have relatives in NYC and Chicago where I can stay while waiting til the day comes. I'm on my first trimester I believe. I'm 22 years old, 9wks pregnant. Haven't consulted a doctor yet but will definitely consult one during the weekend.

My question is, I do not have insurance and I'm planning to have natural birth in either of the cities I stated above, how much would it cost me paying out of pocket? or do you know any place where I can give birth with cheap cost?

Your replies will very much appreciated. This is my first time and haven't told my parents yet either.

Thanks,
Iya

Im not pregnant just lurking. Not sure of out of pocket costs but if you moved here for your pregnancywe do have ppregnancy medicaid which basically covers the finances throughout your pregnancy

Are you certain that having a tourist Visa would make the baby a US Citizen when it was born here? I'm not sure of that... as they have certain laws about the types of Visa's given... I'd do more research. I believe that under a tourist Visa, even if your child is born here, it doesn't become a citizen, because you are VISITING. Whereas if you have the type of Visa that lets you LIVE here, then it would apply. But I could be very wrong. Like I said, I would do a lot of research.

Also keep in mind, I have seen it where the parents get deported, even though their children stay here because they are citizens and the parents are not. I wouldn't wish that on anyone.

As for costs... I dunno. I've seen a basic delivery go anywhere from $3000 to $5000... but less if you aren't doing it in a hospital. You'd have to check the providers in the area you will be in.