cloth nappies-where to start?

Kiree

proud mammy of 2 boys
Reaction score
I'm sure I've seen this question asked already but I've hunted jhigh and low and can't find the thread now..

Can you help me with getting started with cloth nappies? I need to know:

If I want to use cloth at day and disposable at night, how many nappies do I need?
What other equipment do I need?
Also what nappies do you either recommend or suggest I stay away from? I'm happy to try any kind of system as I'm a total novice!
Anything else I need to know?

Thanks in advance and sorry if they r dumb questions...

So far, the main thing i've found like I like are pocket diapers. The all in one diapers I have all seem to take ages to dry. But with the pockets you can take the soaker pads out and it is much fast to dry.

I also liked anything that has elestic in the waist and legs, it helps them fit better.

When I was in the diaper shop, I was told that fleece will wick away moisture and terry is very absorbant. So Im going to stick to fleece pocket diapers with a terry soaker!

There are lots out there which are very similiar. I've just been buying what I think looks cute pattern wise as long as it has the other criteria.

I did buy a couple the you had to put a wrap over and I didnt really like them. I prefer the AIO's or Pockets.

hi hun :wave:

Can you help me with getting started with cloth nappies? I need to know:

If I want to use cloth at day and disposable at night, how many nappies do I need?
you'll probably need about 10-15 ish i would say..depends on if you want to wash every day or not !!!
What other equipment do I need?

you will need a pail to store dirty nappies till wash time, probably a wet bag for dirty nappies when out n about and some tea tree oil for your pail to minimise smelly's!!!
Also what nappies do you either recommend or suggest I stay away from? I'm happy to try any kind of system as I'm a total novice!