going to the zoo! child reins/harness?

sbl

Mum of 2
Reaction score
I've never used a child reins before but as we're going to the zoo this weekend and lo hates the buggy for long periods I've decided to use one.
Any suggestions on what kind? With backpack or not at 18 months?
Thanks ladies x

I don't have any helpful suggestions about types of reins but wanted to say that I usually just let the boys loose at the zoo. I feel that the one we go to is the only place I can give them that kind of freedom without worrying about traffic etc. I guess it would depend on how busy the zoo is and how easy it is to keep an eye on your LO but it's just a thought.

The zoo we are going to will be super busy as it's in Dublin and its a bank holiday so I wouldn't be comfortable with letting her off.

I've always used the little life bags with 'lead' for my 2 and they love it :) I did once try proper reins but my daughter refused to walk with them on, lol. Xx

With my first it was nice and easy to keep hold of her. Reins were insane. Why would anyone put their child on a lead? She never ran away. I thought my parenting had somehow taught her to be this way. She was the perfect toddler........... Then my son was born and he's an absolute menace. Needless to say I now own a pair of backpack reins and he absolutely loves them to pieces. I can unclip the lead bit when he's in a safe place and clip it back on when I need to be in control.

We bought a little rucksack thing with reins on it but to be honest we rarely used it. I thought they would be good but found them restrictive to him. I'd just take the buggy but that's my opinion. I personally didn't like the feeling of using reins as I found that everytime I tugged on them I was almost pulling him over or stoping him explore. But that's my personal view. x