Hormone levels after a miscarriage - **ANOTHER new scan!!**

Laura27

Reaction score
Hi all - i'm not technically TTC right now....but I miscarried at 8+2 4 weeks ago and was told by my doctors to take a test after 3 weeks to make sure it was complete. I put the test off until yesterday as I didnt want to risk seeing 2 pink lines if the HGC levels were still high enough to be picked up.....but i've done the test and a strong line appeared immediately.

Has anyone else experienced anything similar this long after a miscarriage?

I had elevated hCG up to about 6 weeks post MC. I had mine monitored at hospital so took bloods rather than using hpt's but the urine ones at hospital were positive for about 5-6 weeks I think. I did have retained products but I know it's also pretty standard when nothing is wrong. It's VERY normal.

On the other hand... could you possibly be pregnant again??

Hi Laura

I had medical management when I miscarried in January. I was also told to keep testing until I got a negative. I did this every week on a digital and it slowly went down from saying Pregnant 3+, to pregnant 2-3, to pregnant 1-2 and then finally Not pregnant. It took about 4-5 weeks in all. It was very stressful and emotional, the only time this year I was praying for a BFN!! It felt so weird.

Like Hanskiz said, it is very normal.

good luck hun :hugs:

Yes im still getting them now 5weeks down the line, been going to the doctors 2 get blood taken and checking the levels that way, if i was u i would ring up and let them no wots happening and they mite get u 2 come in to see how high they are. xx

Thanks for the replies. We were planning to go wait until we moved house to start TTC again so we've been very careful, this just came as a bit of a shock. I imagined that the levels would have dropped pretty low by now but the line was as pink as when I got my BFP at 12DPO :dohh: