music instruments

x_Nov30_x

Mum of 3 girls, 1 boy
Reaction score
Apart from a recorder what would you suggest for a 6 & 7 year old to start playing to learn how to read music and something thats going to be easy to play... MIL wants to buy them a recorder for easter but the sound really annoys me but for the life of me i cant think of anything else that is suitable for them :shrug:

I started learning the flute at 7. It was the best thing I did cos I don't remember learning it but I can play up to a grade 5 level.

I heard piano/keyboard is the actual 'best' instrument to start of with. Dunno if it was true or not?!

Dunno if that helped or not sorry

Thank you, ill let her know to look into that area instead, i really don't want them to have a recorder lol

I think the flute is a really good idea too. It is a simple instrument to learn and it will also get them into learning consert pitch. Plus the flute has really similar fingering for other woodwind instruments. When I switched from flute to tenor saxaphone I has no problem at all. Piano isn't a bad idea either. In school they will have to learn the basic of the base cleft. It might make it easier to understand later.

Id say piano? I played recorder from 5yr and did piano from 8-10yrs :)

My 5-year-old loves playing around with an old keyboard we have. We haven't started any formal musical instruction yet, but it would certainly be a direction we could take with him.

I'd say piano/keyboard too. If you want the noise kept down she can use headphones. My stepdaughter is amazing on the drums, we found this out because of the game rock band-it means we want to get her drums but even they can be electric and with headphones!!!

My question is do They want to learn somethg, it would he best for their own influence to choose an instrument, lessons are not cheap.
My son is learning cornet/trumpet as he asked to learn, he is 6 in august. ( I play trust)