New mum and falls asleep on breast

Rachael737

Reaction score
Hey ladies, I'm new to breast feeding and having welcomed little Arthur into the world on Thursday morning have EBF.

Arthur falls asleep on the boob after only 15 minutes, but then wakes up fussy after half an hour ready to feed. I'm worried we're not getting to the hind milk and that this is going to affect my supply. Having said that, my boobs are huge today, so imagine this is my supply coming in.

He has lost 8% of his birth weight and it's clear he's been going to bed not full, just not hungry. How can I encourage him to eat more?

Apologies from a novice! Any advice welcome!
X

When my DD was real tiny, i would feed her from one side, 15-20 mins usually til when she'd come off or fall asleep. Then change her diaper, then feed the other side. That USUALLY would keep her satisfied for about an hour. :haha: when they're really tiny all they wanna do is eat, sleep, poop 24/7 LOL its alot of work but it'll get easier :flower:

Having the exact same problem. Actually I made a post about it a few days ago.

I am 6 days PP. My baby falls asleep after 5 minutes at the breast, and I have the same concerns about him not accessing the hind milk and my supply dwindling. So I'll tell you what I've heard and what I've decided to do.