• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Pregnant Ladies, Parents and Public Transport

akash36

Reaction score
Hello Pregnant Ladies and Parents,

I am currently a undergraduate student at Coventry University studying Transport Design. As part of one of my assignments, I have been researching "Parents and Mothers to be: the problems they face on public transport". The focus of this assignment is on redesigning the interior of buses/trains to make them easier and more assessable for pregnant women and mothers.

So far I have found that the main worries and concerns for parents and mothers to be are:
• Unhelpful staff/ bus drivers
• Passengers pretending not to see them and not offering them their seats
• Seating often too low making it difficult to stand up
• Trouble lifting prams onto train/buses

I would greatly appreciate if you can complete my questionnaire (see bellow) in order to help me further my research.

Please feel free to talk about personal experiences and any additional information you may be willing to share.

Thank you for your time and help

Questionnaire for Pregnant Women and Parents

How often have you travelled on public transport when pregnant or since having your baby? And for what purpose?

What do you need to carry when you go out?

What are your likes/dislikes about travelling on public transport?

How do you find other passengers react towards you and your child?

Have you ever had to stand when you were pregnant?

Do you feel anxious about asking people for there seats?

How are the baby changing facilities at Stations? Are they clean? Is there enough space?

Are the seats comfortable on train and in station? Not too much pressure on back, bladder?

Do you have trouble lifting the pram onto the vehicle?