thinking about swapping to cloth...

Zarababy1

4 boys. TTC #5
Reaction score
So ladies at first i thought well iv started with sposies now so i might as well stick with them! but i guess hes only 9 weeks old got ages left in nappies yet! also i felt kinda bad for charlie because hes still in nappies and i'll be keeping him in sposies! Buuut he shouldnt have too long left in them really! so anyway...is it fair to have one in cloth and one not? Also .. what do i need? how many nappys/insterts and stuff do i need too buy? How often do you wash them?? annnd ummm whats a rough start up cost?

I'm pretty new to all this so I'm sure others can give you better answers but you can buy preloved nappies for cheaper prices or buy say 10 in bulk new for roughly £150??
It's best to try out different types first before you buy loads in case you don't get on with them.
I know you can buy birth to potty size so if you older boy feels left out then he could try one too. Depending on how many nappies you buy you can wash every other day to weekly. Most nappies come with boosters etc but just check before you buy, but it's always good to have extra as the ittis or example can just remove the booster if it's wet and pop in a new one, saves changing the whole nappy.
You need a wet bag (monkey foot ones are fab), and probably a nappy bin but that's about it really. HTH x

hey hun, it depends on what kinda fluff you wanna get in regards to price...a good starting point would be Flips....they are a 2 part system where you have a pad that you put in a waterproof outer wrap....you could buy 4-6 full systems (inserts and outers) then just buy about 6-10 extra inserts ...that ould be enough to wash every 2-3 days (depending on how often you change your LO and if you wanted Charlie to wear them too)

The good thing about them is you dont have to change the outer everytime you change the nappy (only the insert so long as the outer isnt pooed on!LOL)