Virtual Job- Working moms question

krissie328

Reaction score
So I have no idea where to post this.. but there is an opportunity for me to take a virtual job working with a virtual school.

So it would be a work from home job with travel. Since part of my job requires me to actually physically meet with students (to administer testing as I am a school psychologist) I would have to travel some. I am not sure how much.

I am wondering has anyone worked at home with a toddler? or two? Were you able to cope with both demands.

I think the idea is really appealing but I am not sure if it would really be better.

Although I like the idea of snuggling my baby when hes sick more than sending him to someone else to snuggle.

Unless you can completely organise your work around nap / bed time or get someone in to help with the childcare I can't see how this would work at all. I assume you will actually have to be talking to the students (using Skype or whatever). What happens if your son starts screaming in the background? Do you interrupt your session with the student to deal with him? Doesn't seem very fair on the student.

Might work if you got some sort of mothers helper in and worked in a different room but how would you feel having to continuously send your son away if he wanted you while you're working? I very occasionally work from home while my mother is watching the kids and my oldest (3 years old) continually comes up to see me in the bedroom, which is really tricky if I'm on a call at the time

I wouldn't have to work directly with students a home. But I would have IEP meetings to attend via phone. My mom would watch him a couple days a week. But the days he'd be home I think would be hard.

After more consideration I am not going to apply. Maybe in a few years when my kids are in school and I could focus. But for now I have a good job that I like and can't see throwing that away for an unknown.

Thanks for your input