Does anybody WORK with children?

Kimmer

Mummy to a beautiful baby
Reaction score
Just wondering.

I've got a meeting to sort out a two week work placement in a day care for children.

I have an idea in my head of what it'll be like, just wanna make sure I'm not completely wrong!

Anyone?

I do, but I work with special needs children so its probably going to be a bit different to what you'll be doing.

I am a Nursery Nurse in a private day nursery, might be able to answer some of your questions!

That sounds more like it!

If I was working in a day care, would I need any qualifications before hand?
I was going to do an NVQ in childcare and I've got an up to date first aid certificate.

What kind of things would I be doing?
I'm sure it won't just be sitting around all day!

I was about 2 years old last time I went to a day centre, so I can't really remember what went on.

I'm not sure what to expect!

I'll appreciate any answers and sorry if I sound dumb!

In a nursery you dont need to have anNVQ you can work towards it whilst working there, they help you do it and fund it, its like a working placement while you learn.
Im a nanny so again slightly different to nurserys, I only work with my three charges as opposed to a room with different children in etc. Its hard work and not a great amount of money but i feel like working with children has a lot more positive's and personal rewards than any boring office job!! hope you enjoy it!

That sounds good!

I'm not particularly bothered about earning much, anything is more than job seekers! It seems like the kind of job that is rewarding though.

I wanted to do a study as you work thing so I can get further with it.

Just making sure I'm not gonna be shot down before I get anywhere!