Vegetable Patches

Pyrrhic

Reaction score
Seeing as spring will be here in a couple of months, is anyone planning on starting a vegetable patch?

If you have one already, what do you grow?

I've never tried before, but will be this year :)

I have always had a small one, and usually grow potatoes, carrots, cabbage, rocket, spinach, beetroot, onions and courgettes.

I grow lettuce in hanging baskets, herbs in a wheelbarrow (lol) and tomatos in a grow bag.

I am on the list for an allotment and would like to grow more things like swede, butternut squash, leek, garlic, more potatoes etc.

:)

I grow everything in tubs :) Carrots, spring onions, tatties, lettuce and peppers as staples. Have tomatos in hanging containers as they grow best this way (highly reccomend that way instead of grow bags or anything) I have invested in a little greenhouse thing so I can grow some cucumbers (my son LOVES cucumbers) hoping to also do peas, leeks and rubarb this year onto of the fruit which is now established, we have apple, pear, blackcurrent, blueberry, strawberries (LOTS...more than we eat!!) and raspberries.
I dont actually think once Ive got all that going properly this year that we will have room for growing anything else and sadly I dont have time to travel to the nearest allotments to do anymore but I think there is a lot of value in having it in the back garden anyway. My son LOVES helping out. I grow everything from seed (harder work but I get organic seed and grow it organically) and he loves to come down every day (literally!) to see if its growing yet and for him to help care for them from seed to plate is great. Plus I LOVE that I can go and pull out the veg and it gets from soil to plate in less than an hour....!