What are everyone's reasons for waiting?

L

ladybrixton

Hi ladies,

I introduced myself long ago and have been lurking ever since. I thought I'd jump in and start posting now our TTC is only a year away - it felt like an unsurmountable distance before now.

I'm curious about everyone's reasons for waiting. For us, there are a few factors, the biggest of which is my work. I'm the breadwinner in our family and work full time. I'm a teacher and have just started work at a new school. I am with an agency at this school, though the school have told me they want me permanently, but I don't know when they will take me on. Until then I have no job security. I also don't like the idea of announcing a new pregnancy before I've worked somewhere a year. If all goes to plan and we TTC successfully next November then I'll have two full years at the school before going on maternity leave, which I don't think is too bad.

Another reason is our little boy. I want him to be the baby for as long as possible and I want to be able to devote all the spare time I have to him. Having him has made me even more broody (which I didn't think is possible) and I desperately want another, but I do want to have some time with just me and him first.

We're trying next November for a July 2014 baby. How about all of you and what are your reasons?

x

ps Sorry if this post is too nosy!

Well im 21 and my fiance is 27. We both would have started trying already if it wasnt for the fact we are getting married in 10 months. I think honeymoon night is the TTC date for us, just feels so far away. I also just started a new job and i want to make sure im there for a while before going on mat leave. We also only have a 1 bedroom apartment which we love and dont want to part with, so it will be hard doing that too. Can baby survive in a large 1 bedroom with us for 1 or 2 years? anyone know? thanks!

You have wonderful reasons to wait!